When running an unmoderated test, you have the option to enable a progress bar for participants as well as allow them the freedom to go back and edit previous answers to questions. Both of these options are available in the Study details section when setting up your test.
Enabling a progress bar for participants
If you want participants to see a progress bar while taking your study, ensure that Study progress is enabled in your study settings:
This is selected by default; you can untick the box if you prefer not to show participants their study progress.
When it's enabled, all participants will see a progress bar at the top of the page as they move through your test. This gives them a sense of how far along they are, which can help reduce drop-off rates.
Allowing participants to go back
Enabling a back button can be useful in allowing users to edit mistakes or finish their thought if they moved on too quickly, reducing the risk of incomplete responses. It can also, however, skew results if participants want to change their initial response based on context they receive later in the study. That's why you'll need to decide what's suitable for your study before opting in or out.
It'll be enabled by default in your study settings. If you want participants to only be able to move through the test in a single direction, you can untick the box.
When the back button is enabled:
Participants can go back to any previous question (ranking, multi-select, linear scale, open text, etc.) and change their answer.
Participants cannot go back to repeat a task, such as a five-second test or a prototype test. Tasks are completed once and cannot be redone.
Participants cannot go back to edit questions in sections that are recorded.
This setting applies to the entire study; it cannot be toggled on or off for individual sections.


